Fluffy Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

People always seem to think I’m a very generous and giving individual. More often than not, I show up to a friend’s house with a dozen cupcakes or an elaborately piped cake in hand. “You’re so nice!” they say. “What a selfless thing, to spend your time baking goodies for other people!”

I’ll tell you a secret: most of what I do, I do it for MYSELF.

Yes, I hide behind a facade of smiles and frosting, but truthfully, I do it for the batter. The batter, baby.
When I decide to bake something, most of the time it’s because I’m craving a certain batter that day. And most of the time, I don’t even eat a single finished cupcake. But god knows I make up for it with that chocolate-covered spatula.

This pumpkin snickerdoodle batter was absolutely on my mind all weekend. I gave myself an excuse to bake them (a thank-you gift to a journalism professor) and whipped up a batch of these fluffy clouds of fall-scented heaven. Sooooo yummy! You might even want to pump up the pumpkin (lol right) by adding a bit more puree, but that’s up to you.

Fluffy Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

Adapted from Annie’s Eats

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

For the cookies:
3¾ cups all-purpose flour
1½ tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
½ tsp. ground cinnamon
¼ tsp. ground nutmeg
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
½ cup light brown sugar
¾ cup pumpkin puree
1 large egg
2 tsp. vanilla extract

For the coating:
½ cup granulated sugar
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
½ tsp. ground ginger

Whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg in a medium bowl. Beat butter and sugars in a large bowl on medium-high until fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Mix in the pumpkin puree. Beat in the egg and the vanilla extract. Gradually add the dry ingredients with the mixer on low speed. Refrigerate dough for at least 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, mix coating ingredients. Form cookie dough into 2 1/2-tablespoon-size balls, and roll in coating. Place on a parchment-covered baking sheet. Wet the bottom of a flat-bottomed glass, dip in coating, and slightly flatten cookies. Re-coat glass as necessary. Bake for 10-15 minutes, or just until baked through.

3 responses to “Fluffy Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

  1. I am making this. What do you mean ‘adapted from’ didyou change her recipe?

    ________________________________

  2. These look fantastic! I’m not familiar with snickerdoodles, not a term we use here in Australia. I’m going to try and figure out the measurements/temps for here and give them a whirl. If it’s OK I’d love to re-blog this with the Australian measurements/oven temps.

Leave a Reply

