Veg Out: Cauliflower Crust Pizza

I like to think cauliflower and I are alike, in some ways.

Barring the fact that I have neither cell-walls nor membrane-bound chloroplasts, this lil leafer and I are quite similar. Unassuming on the outside, we are surprisingly versatile and fascinating individuals once you get to know us. Cauliflower is pegged into “the boring plant” role, and I am often pegged into “the boring human” role. But wait! Did you know — I’m left-handed, my name is a palindrome, I played Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz, AND I was once considered somewhat of a prodigy at Etch-A-Sketch? As for the cauliflower — it too has hidden talents. Today, we’re going to talk about its capacity as a pizza crust.

A few questions you may have:

A PIZZA CRUST?

ISN’T CAULIFLOWER DISGUSTING?

CAN A REAL PERSON EAT THAT MUCH CAULIFLOWER WITHOUT RISK OF DEATH?

The answer is yes, to all these. Give us a chance, here.

Although this doesn’t taste JUST like carbohydrated floury pizza crust, it’s a more than passable substitute. For me, a quasi-vegetarian, I actually love the slight veggie taste. And honestly, you basically make a thin cauli-and-cheese patty, bake it for a while, then smother it with some more cheese and veg and goodness on top. Am I tempting you now? What if I told you there was only 150 calories in each slice, TOTAL? And like… 4 carbs? And most importantly, my best friend Emily (who is really pretty, and has great taste as well) loved it too?

Can you dig it now?

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Adapted from Recipe Girl

2 1/2 cups shredded cauliflower florets (or finely chopped with one of those slap-chop devices)

1 cup shredded cheese (I opted for mozzarella but feel free to experiment)

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp garlic, minced

1/2 tsp oregano

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Place cauliflower in a microwave-safe bowl and microwave for 8 minutes. Let cool.

Combine cauliflower, egg, cheese, salt, garlic, and oregano in a medium bowl. Spray a baking sheet with non-stick spray. Pat cauliflower mixture into a 1/2-inch-thick patty, about 9 inches in diameter. Bake for 15 minutes.

Remove from oven and top with toppings (more cheese, tomato sauce, sausage, peppers, etc.) Place back in oven for about 5 minutes or until cheese is melty. DON’T FORGET ABOUT YOUR PIZZA or it will burn. Not like I would know, from experience.

 

And nom on down to cauli-town.

9 responses to “Veg Out: Cauliflower Crust Pizza

  1. Cauliflower pizza!!!! and it actually looks amazing!! I think this one will be perfect for me because I don’t really enjoy eating the pizza bread! I’m going to try this! thanks for sharing!!!!

  2. Ok, you almost lost me in your first few lines, but I pushed on through. And I laughed. I have been looking at cauliflower pizza crust for a while now, and I don’t remember other recipes having cheese in them. Could be I just don’t remember or it could be this is the first one. I like it. I am going to try it one of these days. I also don’t think I have seen one (a cauliflower pizza crust) as beautiful as this one.

  3. P.S. From your humor infused post, I seriously doubt you are “often pegged into ‘the boring human’ role”, unless it is you doing the pegging. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

