Ombre Rose Cake

Of the dozens of baked goods that I’ve concocted over the past few years, this is absolutely my greatest achievement.
Yes, even greater than pudding shots. Although those were a different kind of boozy spectacle. And maybe those weren’t even that good, but my judgment was a little… clouded from multiple taste tests.

But I was totally sober for this one, so trust me.

I embarked upon this cake project at noon, and finished cleaning up at 5. So this isn’t just something you whip together, unless you’re some kind of baking god, or you’re not living in a dorm kitchen without a stand mixer. This is a commitment, here. There’s pink ALL OVER my kitchen and my hands and my clothes. Don’t start this if you don’t want to get a lil bit crazy. Love you too, food coloring.

The inside of this cake is 4 separate layers of 9-inch cakes, tinted different shades of pink. As you can see, my idea of “equal layers” is a bit skewed.

Nevertheless! Intrepidly we surge forward upon our ombre quest. The piped roses look much, much harder than they are — it’s just a quick swirl with a Wilton 1M tip, and it looks gorgeous. Love love love. Check out a good tutorial at I am baker.

And what is ombre? Some sort of trendy color thing on Pinterest. Google it.

Ombre Rose Cake

3 cups sugar

3 sticks butter, softened

6 eggs

2 1/2 tbsp vanilla (or vanilla bean extract, which I prefer)

4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon and 2 tsp baking powder

2 cups milk

Preheat oven to 350. Cream butter and sugar together in a large bowl. Beat in eggs, one at a time, and then vanilla. Whisk flour and baking powder together in a medium bowl, and mix into wet ingredients. Add milk slowly on low speed, mixing until combined.

Line the bottom of your cake pans with 9-inch circles of parchment paper. DON’T SKIP THIS STEP I’M TOTALLY 100% SERIOUS. You’ll have a bunch of broken cakes otherwise. Spray both parchment and pan with non-stick spray. Divide cake batter into 4 parts (about 2 cups each), tinting each as desired. Bake for 30 minutes or until tops spring back. When cakes are done, place in the freezer until ready to frost.
Frosting

2 cups shortening

1 cup butter

12 cups powdered sugar (no, I’m not joking)

2 tsp vanilla (use clear vanilla for white frosting)

1/2 cup milk

I made this frosting in 2 batches, because my bowl wasn’t big enough. But the recipe above is the total amount you need for the crumb coat and the roses. Cream shortening and butter together until smooth, 2-3 minutes. Beat in vanilla. Add powdered sugar 1 cup at a time. When frosting starts to get tough, add milk slowly.

Place first layer on cake circle. Spread a thin layer of frosting on top. Add the second layer of cake. Continue with all the layers. Spread a thin layer of frosting on the outside of the cake (it’s okay if it’s a bit messy). Place in the fridge for at least 15 minutes. At this point, I made my second batch of frosting.

Split remaining frosting into 3 bowls. Tint as desired. Using a Wilton 1M tip, add roses to the sides and top of cake. Refrigerate until served.

6 responses to “Ombre Rose Cake

Leave a Reply

