Roasted Vegetable Sandwiches with Herbed Goat Cheese Spread

I’ve always been more of a baker than a cook, but this summer, my mom and I cooked all the time — and she’s a GREAT cook. So when I came to school, I couldn’t wait to start making myself some yummy foods on my own. Like, I literally planned menus in my head. Like, I thought about grocery shopping before I fell asleep. Like, I brainstormed recipes on the elliptical. I know. Even when I’m working out, I’m thinking about dinner.

I didn’t get the chance to cook yesterday, because I was busy doing this —

And the application of various sequins, glitters and face paints really just took up the whole night. You wouldn’t even BELIEVE. Anyway, when I got back to cooking, a roasted veggie sandwich kept popping up at the top of my list. So I tossed some peppers and mushrooms in olive oil, set those puppies in the oven,caramelized some onions, and whisked a few herbs into a hunk of goat cheese. And oh, my god, what a delicious combo.

Roasted Veggie Sandwiches with Herbed Goat Cheese Spread

Serves 2

2 large bell peppers, sliced

5-6 baby portobello mushrooms, sliced

1/2 large onion, sliced

3 oz goat cheese, softened

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp thyme

3 tsp extra virgin olive oil

Sea salt

Preheat oven to 475 degrees. Toss peppers and mushrooms in 2 tsp olive oil. Sprinkle lightly with sea salt. Place evenly on baking sheet. Roast for 30 minutes, flipping peppers and mushrooms after 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat 1 tsp olive oil in medium skillet over medium heat. Place onions in skillet and cover, stirring occasionally. Salt lightly after 10 minutes. Add 1 tsp water if onions are drying out. Cook for 45 minutes, or until desired caramelization state is reached.

Place goat cheese in small bowl. Use fork to mix in oregano and thyme. Spread over roll or sandwich thin, and top with vegetables. Serve warm.

2 responses to “Roasted Vegetable Sandwiches with Herbed Goat Cheese Spread

Leave a Reply

