Peach-Raspberry Crumble

For the past week, I’ve been baking like I’d never see an oven again.

Four batches of cupcakes, three batches of scones, and one lil fruit crisp to top it all off. I’m headed back to college tomorrow, and I’m so SO excited! But there are a few things I’ll miss — the dishwasher, the double oven, the stand mixer… oh and my family, too, or whatever. It’s these little luxuries that keep me coming home for summers and breaks. Oh and my family, too. Yeah.
My mom and I are driving out through the wilderness of Utah, Wyoming and the Mountain West, just a couple of free-living girls looking for a good time. Cue the aviators and wild hair, cruising with the windows down on my Honda CR-V (the ultimate hot rod, right?)  And tomorrow I’ll be back in my favorite place in the world, my own Colorado, with its open skies and cowboy boots and red sandstone buttes.

But for now, I’m using every single piece of my mom’s cookware like Williams Sonoma is going out of business.

This crumble is the perfect late-summer dessert — ripe peaches, tart berries, all gooed-up and topped with a fluffy oat crumble. Seriously a great end to a great summer, for me.

Peach-Raspberry Crumble

Adapted from Smitten Kitten

Topping

1 cup flour

1/2 cup quick-cooking oats

3 tbsp sugar

3 tbsp Turbinado sugar (or raw sugar)

zest of one lemon

1 tsp baking powder

1 stick butter, melted

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Stir dry ingredients together in a medium bowl until combined. Pour butter over mixture and stir until clumps form and no powder remains. Refrigerate until needed.

Filling

5 peaches, sliced

3 cups raspberries, or other berries

1/4 cup sugar

juice of one lemon

4 tbsp corn starch

pinch of salt
Combine fruit in the bottom of a 9-inch pie pan, or oval pan, like I used. Toss in sugar, lemon juice, corn starch, and salt. Spread crumble topping thickly and evenly over fruit. Bake for 40-50 minutes, or until topping is golden brown in spots and fruit is bubbly underneath.

Enjoy with some vanilla ice cream!

2 responses to “Peach-Raspberry Crumble

Leave a Reply

