Chocolate Chip Zucchini Muffins

Honestly, zucchini’s not really my scene.

A greenish, slippery log of a vegetable. A zucchini is a strange beast indeed.
Would I choose this lil’ veg by itself? Probably not.
Throw in some chocolate, and now we’re talking.

My dad brought home the Ryan Lochte of zucchinis this afternoon. (Yes, still crushing on Lochte, even though he’s a bit of a space cadet. Don’t need brains to swim fast, I suppose.) This beautiful physical specimen of a zucchini inspired me to take another stab at zucchini consumption.

Mmmm still a little too green for me.

 

Oh yes. That’s better.

I think zucchini and I have made amends, at this point. Don’t let the veg scare you off this one — these are delicious, hearty, breakfasty-lunchy-desserty anytime-y scrumptious supermuffins. For the realz.

Chocolate Chip Zucchini Muffins

Adapted from Taste of Home

Makes 24 muffins

 

3 cups flour

1 1/2 cup sugar

2 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tsp salt

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup milk

2 tbsp lemon juice

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cup shredded zucchini

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

 

Whisk together all dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, salt) in a large bowl. Whisk together eggs, oil, milk, lemon juice, and vanilla in medium bowl. Stir into dry ingredients until just combined. Fold in zucchini and chocolate chips. Fill muffin/cupcake liners about 2/3 full.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

 

OH WHOOPS HOW DID THIS STUD MUFFIN GET IN HERE I’M BAKING ZUCCHINI MUFFINS I MEAN SERIOUSLY.

 

 

 

#sorrynotsorry
.

 

 

 

5 responses to “Chocolate Chip Zucchini Muffins

  1. I’ve heard of this but never tried it, now I think I will. Carrot cake works. Beetroot cake works. Why the hell not.

  2. I love making these–best way to get the kids to eat all those zukes coming out of the garden! And I agree, if you want kids to eat them, peel off the green skin or else convince them they are ‘gremlin muffins’!

Leave a Reply

