Veg Out: Hummus Pita Wrap

Last Saturday, on a whim, I decided to go vegetarian for a week just to see if I could. Seven days sans meat. It was easy for the first couple of days; I don’t eat meat that often, anyway. But on Tuesday night, my subconscious revolted — I had a vivid, sizzling, tasty dream about BACON.

What the hell, subconscious? Aren’t we on the same team here?

Despite my pork-flavored dreams, I successfully made it without meat for a week. I ended up trying a bunch of new (delicious) vegetarian recipes, and I’m going to try and occasionally share some of those with you. Because whether you choose to be vegetarian for a year, or for a day, or for one meal, skipping the meat is not only good for the environment but good for your health, too. It’s fun to switch things up every now and then.

This first Veg Out recipe is a simple combination of fresh, mostly-raw ingredients. Hummus is a great source of protein for veg-heads, the roasted peppers and tomatoes add some crunchy sweetness, and the feta adds that Mediterranean zing.

Hummus Pita Wraps

Serves 1

1/2 large pita, whole wheat

1/2 cup shredded romaine lettuce

1/3 cup hummus

6-8 cherry tomatoes, sliced in half

1/2 bell pepper, roasted

A sprinkling of feta cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Slice pepper into thin strips and roast until brown spots begin to appear. Let cool.

Spread hummus over half of the pita. Place a thin layer of lettuce on top of the hummus.  Arrange tomatoes and peppers on the lettuce, and finish with a sprinkle of feta. Fold pita and nom on down.

5 responses to “Veg Out: Hummus Pita Wrap

  1. Thanks for your visit to The Nutrition Doctor is In the Kitchen & for liking my grilled parm post! I appreciate it! And I applaud and further encourage the veggie experiment. Perhaps you will find some more tempting recipes and suggestions on my blog… Cheers, PK

Leave a Reply

