Chocolate Cupcakes with Two-Tone Frosting

I love this technique because it looks WAY harder to do than it actually is. And that’s pretty much what we’re all trying to do here, right? Look like we’re working very, very hard?

Actually, after baking so much lately, I HAVE been working very, very hard — at the gym. Fighting a downhill battle here, people. I get stressed at work, come home, bake to relax, eat like 56 spatula-fuls of batter, and then wake up feeling like a beached whale. Gotta hit that elliptical, girlfriend. Moreover, gotta read 50 Shades on my Kindle for that 40 minutes on the elliptical, girlfriend.

I made these for a neighbor’s 4th of July barbecue, along with these cookies. I love the opportunity to bring something (or two, or three things) to a neighbor’s, because it gets the majority of my baked goods out of the house.

So I can make something new the next day.

Two-tone frosting technique:

Make a full batch of your fave frosting. Split that batch into two equal parts. Then, add flavor/color to each separate part.

Blue and White! Peanut Butter and Chocolate! Peach and Strawberry! DOES THIS NOT BLOW YOUR MIND?

It did, to me. It blew my mind. These are the things I think about at night — frosting swirls.

And that guy from Vampire Diaries.

Less frosting, more gym, more Ian Somerhalder.

SO after you have your two parts, cut a medium-sized snippet off the end of two pastry bags. Plop your two frostings into bags, and then put THOSE two bags into ANOTHER bag.

Like so.

Then proceed to pipe your frosting onto those darlin cupcakes per usual!

For these chocolate cupcakes, I used my signature no-fail chocolate cupcake recipe, found here.

Oh, and this, too.

Yeah.

Leave a Reply

