Cookie Dough Truffles

Sometimes I feel like the best part of baking is not the finished dessert, but the raw stuff — the salmonella-filled gooey yumminess sticking to the sides of the bowl. When I make cupcakes, I usually only take one or two bites of the end product, but I seriously go to town on that dough. And then I feel sick and have to drink a bunch of water. It’s like medieval self-flagellation with more calories involved. Forgive me, for I have sinned, and I’m now incapacitated on the couch nursing my distended tummy.

On that pleasant mental image, I’d like to speak to you today about a better way to gorge yourself on raw dough. These bite-size dee-lights skip the whole baking step altogether. Some culinary genius decided to make an eggless cookie dough specifically for the purpose of pre-bake consumption, and another culinary genius decided to dunk that dough in chocolate.

And I, as an aspiring culinary genius, made these truffles for my brother’s bar mitzvah weekend. I’ll be honest — these Jews went flat-out MESHUGA up in that joint. And you can always trust the Jews when it comes to good food.

L’chaim, bitches

I added a bit more milk than called for in the original recipe because it’s so dry up here in the quaint wilderness mountain cabin hideaway where I live. If you’re baking at a lower altitude, or in a less dry environment, be careful not to add too much of that moo juice.

Moo juice. It’s happening. I’m going to make that happen.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

Adapted from Bakerella

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
4 tablespoons milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
chocolate candy coating

White chocolate chips, for drizzle

  • In a large bowl, beat butter and sugars with an electric mixer until light and fluffy (about 3 minutes).
  • Mix in milk and vanilla.
  • Add flour and salt and mix on low until combined.
  • If dough doesn’t come together, add milk one tsp at a time until the dough clumps.
  • Stir in chocolate chips.
  • Chill dough in refrigerator for about 30 minutes until firm enough to roll or scoop into 1-inch balls. I used a small cookie dough scoop.
  • Place rolled balls on a wax paper lined baking sheet and place in the freezer for at least 15 minutes.
  • Melt candy coating following instructions on the package. Remove a couple of balls from the freezer  and dip in candy coating. Let any excess fall off back into the bowl, and set the ball onto wax paper. Before the ball completely dries, relocate it to a clean spot of wax paper in order to avoid chocolate “feet” forming.
  • Melt white chocolate chips and pour into ziploc bag. Snip off a piece of the corner and drizzle chocolate over dried truffles.
  • Refrigerate in an airtight container for up to a week.
2 responses to “Cookie Dough Truffles

Leave a Reply

