Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic Glaze and Cranberries

It’s time to rethink everything you thought you knew about Brussels sprouts.

And yes, Brussels is capitalized, and no, you may not question me on this, because yes, I am a former copy editor and yes I will use a red pen to outline every last misuse of this proper noun because English has RULES and they must be followed.

I digress.

Brussels sprouts:
NOT DISGUSTING.

In fact, they’re really, really scrumptious if done right.

I’d never actually seriously eaten Brussels sprouts before tonight. I’d popped a leafy bite or two into my mouth, but I couldn’t remember if liked these mini cabbage-things. So I took a gamble, tossed some in olive oil, roasted ’em up and drizzled some balsamic over them and

BAM

magic. kitchen magic. it’s real, and it happened. It could happen to you, too.

 

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic Glaze and Cranberries

Recipe adapted from Pioneer Woman

Serves 3-4

 

16-20 Brussels sprouts, washed, trimmed and halved

1/8 cup olive oil

salt

1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

1 tbsp sugar

1/4 cup cranberries

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a plastic bag, mix sprouts and olive oil, coating the veggies. Put sprouts on a baking sheet covered in tin foil and sprinkle with salt. Roast for 20-25 minutes, or until browned.

While Brussels sprouts are roasting, mix balsamic and sugar in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil and then reduce to medium-low heat. Cook for 15-20 minutes, or until mixture has thickened. (Balsamic will thicken even more if you let the mixture cool after it cooks.)

Toss Brussels sprouts and cranberries. Drizzle with balsamic reduction and serve.

 

 

 

4 responses to “Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic Glaze and Cranberries

  1. I’ve never really made Brussels sprouts myself but have friends that swear by roasting them. This sounds tasty- I might have to try it.

  2. if you quarter them, and stir-fry them in some sesame oil and soy sauce until the soy sauce caramelizes on them, they give you the same great taste as you roasted them but with instant gratification!

Leave a comment